Aero Theatre
1328 Montana Avenue,
Santa Monica, CA 90403 Map
Buy Tickets SHARE

Series at the Aero Theatre in Santa Monica

Thu, Jul 11, 2019 - Thu, Aug 22, 2019

The escapist fantasy of screwball comedy and the gritty pessimism of film noir aren’t completely distinct. Our "Highballs and Screwballs" series salutes the intersection of dark and light with pairs of films sharing talent, a locale or story elements with such classics as DOUBLE INDEMNITY, HIS GIRL FRIDAY and KEY LARGO.


Sat, Jun 29, 2019 - Sun, Jun 30, 2019

Since her first foray into feature filmmaking in 2006, Lynn Shelton has emerged as one of the most successful indie directors and one of the most sought-after TV directors in the business. This weekend salute to the writer-director includes such favorites as YOUR SISTER’S SISTER, OUTSIDE IN and HUMPDAY as well as her new comedy SWORD OF TRUST - with Shelton in person at all shows.


Fri, Jun 21, 2019 - Sun, Jun 23, 2019

Over the last three decades, brothers Joel and Ethan Coen have created a remarkably broad filmography, ranging from offbeat crime dramas to love letters to early bluegrass and folk music, black comedies and revisionist Westerns. This weekend of favorites from the acclaimed auteurs includes A SERIOUS MAN, FARGO, NO COUNTRY FOR OLD MEN and more.


Thu, Jun 13, 2019 - Sat, Jun 15, 2019

As movie evangelists go, few could compare to Pauline Kael, born 100 years ago this month. This weekend tribute to the famed New Yorker critic includes such favorites as BONNIE AND CLYDE, CHILDREN OF PARADISE and DINER.


In Person Guests!

Thu, Jun 6, 2019 - Sun, Jun 9, 2019

Television’s National Geographic Channel continues to promote the power of science, exploration and storytelling to change the world. In June we cast our eyes on the planet with free screenings of two of the channel’s most popular series, HOSTILE PLANET and THE STORY OF GOD WITH MORGAN FREEMAN, and its Oscar-winning documentary FREE SOLO – each with in-person guests including FREE SOLO climber Alex Honnold and Morgan Freeman.


Thu, May 23, 2019 - Sun, May 26, 2019

Join us for a Memorial Day weekend of king-size cinema including such masterpieces from the "Golden Age" of 70mm filmmaking as LAWRENCE OF ARABIA and 35mm-to-70mm blow-up prints of such 1980s favorites as HOOK and THE THING.