Egyptian Theatre
6712 Hollywood Boulevard
Hollywood, CA 90028 Map
Sun, Oct 13, 2013
8:00pm
Buy Tickets SHARE

BEYOND FEST 2013
Los Angeles Premiere! Hosted by DVDASA's David Choe
WHY DON’T YOU PLAY IN HELL?
Presented by the American Cinematheque and Amity.

Hosted by David Choe, who will produce his DVDASA podcast on-site from 7:30-8:00 PM.

WHY DON’T YOU PLAY IN HELL?
JIGOKU DE NAZE WARUI
2013, Drafthouse Films, 126 min, Japan, Dir: Sion Sono

Winner of the Toronto International Film Festival’s People's Choice Midnight Madness Award! Described by its provocative writer-director as “an action film about the love of 35mm,” Sion Sono’s 31st film was penned some 15 years ago, long before digital cinema became the norm. A violent confrontation with a rival yakuza clan leaves a mob boss's wife in prison and his daughter’s performing career derailed. Some down-on-their-luck moviemakers may be able to give the aspiring actress a boost - but they are walking into a bloodbath. Impossible to categorize and astonishing to experience, WHY DON'T YOU PLAY IN HELL? is a visceral and visual rush unlike anything else. In Japanese with English subtitles.


Screening format: DCP
Egyptian Theatre • Sun, Oct 13, 2013 • 8:00pm
Buy Tickets SHARE

Films in this Series at the Egyptian

Actor Austin Stoker & D.P. Douglas Knapp In Person! New Soundtrack Release & Composer Alan Howarth Live!
Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Director Richard Donner In Person! Archival 35mm Print!
Fri, Oct 11, 2013 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Umberto To Perform Live Score to PIECES! Dir. Renaud Gauthier In Person!
Sat, Oct 12, 2013 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Live Performance by Paul F. Tompkins & Paget Brewster!
Sun, Oct 20, 2013 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sold Out!
Mon, Oct 21, 2013 - 8:00pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sold Out!
Tue, Oct 22, 2013 - 8:00pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sold Out!
Wed, Oct 23, 2013 - 8:00pm
Egyptian Theatre
Director Jörg Buttgereit In Person! Only Existing 35mm Prints!
Thu, Oct 24, 2013 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Director Joe Begos In Person!
Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Monster's Ball Gala! Clive Barker & Producer Mark Miller In Person!
Sat, Oct 26, 2013 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
PROXY L.A. Premiere w/ Director Zack Parker & Actress Alexa Havins In Person!
Tue, Oct 29, 2013 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre

Films in this Series at the Aero

Mon, Oct 14, 2013 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Los Angeles Premiere! Director Ruairi Robinson In Person!
Thu, Oct 17, 2013 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Panel Discussion With Actor Gordon Kennedy, Producer Jennifer Handorf, Fright Fest Curator Paul McEvoy, & Fangoria’s Bekah McKendry
Fri, Oct 18, 2013 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
"The Nerdist" Writers Panel: Trailers From Hell Werewolf Edition On the Night of October’s Full Moon! Joe Dante In Person!
Sat, Oct 19, 2013 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
6 Films Back To Back! Food, Coffee, Giveaways, and Surprises!
Sat, Oct 26, 2013 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Live Musical Accompaniment!
Thu, Oct 31, 2013 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre