Aero Theatre
1328 Montana Avenue,
Santa Monica, CA 90403 Map
Fri, May 18, 2018
7:30pm
Buy Tickets SHARE

THE SEASON OF BERGMAN
Double Feature!
THE VIRGIN SPRING / THE DEVIL’S EYE
Presented in association with the Swedish Film Institute and the Ingmar Bergman Foundation.
35 mm!

THE VIRGIN SPRING
JUNGFRUKÄLLAN
1960, Janus Films, 89 min, Sweden, Dir: Ingmar Bergman

In this period piece set in medieval Sweden, Max von Sydow plays a deeply religious rural farmer who questions his faith when his daughter is raped and murdered. His response to the crime facilitates a classic Bergman inquiry into the existence of God and the juxtaposition between brutality and beauty that informs daily life. An uncommonly poetic treatment of material harsh enough to have inspired, among many other films, Wes Craven’s LAST HOUSE ON THE LEFT. In Swedish with English subtitles.


35 mm!

THE DEVIL’S EYE
DJÄVULENS ÖGA
1960, Janus Films, 84 min, Sweden, Dir: Ingmar Bergman

This sophisticated fantasy - the last Bergman film to be shot by the great Gunnar Fischer - is an engaging satire on petit-bourgeois morals. The Devil suffers from an inflamed eye, which he informs Don Juan (Jarl Kulle) can only be cured if a young woman’s chastity is breached. So the legendary lover ascends from Hell and sets about seducing the innocent pastor’s daughter, Britt-Marie (Bibi Andersson). Bergman’s dialogue bubbles with an irony reminiscent of his beloved Molière, and the music of Domenico Scarlatti (played by Bergman’s fourth wife, Käbi Laretei) underscores the joy that invests much of the film.


Both films in Swedish with English subtitles.
Aero Theatre • Fri, May 18, 2018 • 7:30pm
Buy Tickets SHARE

Films in this Series at the Egyptian

Fri, May 4, 2018 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, May 5, 2018 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, May 6, 2018 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Thu, May 10, 2018 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Fri, May 11, 2018 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, May 12, 2018 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre

Films in this Series at the Aero

Wed, May 16, 2018 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Thu, May 17, 2018 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Sat, May 19, 2018 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Sun, May 20, 2018 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre