Egyptian Theatre
6712 Hollywood Boulevard
Hollywood, CA 90028 Map
Sat, Apr 11, 2015
7:30pm
Buy Tickets SHARE

NOIR CITY: THE 17TH ANNUAL FESTIVAL OF FILM NOIR
Double Feature!
THE UNDERWORLD STORY / ABANDONED
Presented by the American Cinematheque in collaboration with the Film Noir Foundation.
Introduction by Alan K. Rode of the Film Noir Foundation.
New FNF 35mm Print!

THE UNDERWORLD STORY
1950, Warner Bros., 90 min, USA, Dir: Cy Enfield

Another unjustly neglected noir by director Cy Enfield, in which the always entertaining Dan Duryea plays a cynical reporter who digs dangerously close to a corrupt publisher’s family secrets. Costarring Herbert Marshall, Gale Storm and Howard da Silva, and featuring dazzling cinematography by the great Stanley Cortez (NIGHT OF THE HUNTER, THE MAGNIFICENT AMBERSONS).


ABANDONED
1949, Universal, 78 min, USA, Dir: Joseph M. Newman

Gale Storm plays a naive young woman who’s come to Los Angeles in search of her missing sister. Shunned by the police, she’s assisted by an intrepid reporter (Dennis O’Keefe), who smells a story when he gets wind of an underground racket in black-market babies. Featuring film noir favorites Raymond Burr and Mike Mazurki, and the screen debut of future star Jeff Chandler. NOT ON DVD.


New 35mm print of THE UNDERWORLD STORY courtesy of the Film Noir Foundation collection at the UCLA Film & Television Archive. | ABANDONED screens in a 35mm print.
Egyptian Theatre • Sat, Apr 11, 2015 • 7:30pm
Buy Tickets SHARE

Films in this Series at the Egyptian

Opening Night!
Fri, Apr 3, 2015 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sold Out! Stephen Bogart & Director Steve Anderson In Person! Reception Sponsored by Bogart's Real English Gin!
Sat, Apr 4, 2015 - 5:00pm
Egyptian Theatre
Archival 35mm Prints!
Sun, Apr 5, 2015 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Thu, Apr 9, 2015 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Fri, Apr 10, 2015 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, Apr 12, 2015 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Wed, Apr 15, 2015 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Actress Patricia Morison In Person!
Thu, Apr 16, 2015 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
New FNF 35mm Prints!
Fri, Apr 17, 2015 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Apr 18, 2015 - 7:00pm
Egyptian Theatre
Proto-Noir Marathon!
Sun, Apr 19, 2015 - 5:00pm
Egyptian Theatre