Egyptian Theatre
6712 Hollywood Boulevard
Hollywood, CA 90028 Map
Thu, Apr 9, 2015
7:30pm
Buy Tickets SHARE

NOIR CITY: THE 17TH ANNUAL FESTIVAL OF FILM NOIR
More Marriage Noir! Double Feature!
THE SUSPECT / LADIES IN RETIREMENT
Presented by the American Cinematheque in collaboration with the Film Noir Foundation.
Introduction by Alan K. Rode of the Film Noir Foundation.
THE SUSPECT
1944, Universal, 85 min, USA, Dir: Robert Siodmak

Timid tobacconist Philip Marshall (Charles Laughton) develops a friendship with a poor young woman (Ella Raines), igniting his wife’s shrewish jealousy. Despite the Edwardian-era decorum, THE SUSPECT is a classic noir - one of Siodmak’s best - featuring Laughton’s memorable portrait of a repressed and lonely man who will do anything to protect the unexpected joy he’s found too late in his life. Costarring Stanley Ridges and Rosalind Ivins.


LADIES IN RETIREMENT
1941, Sony Repertory, 91 min, USA, Dir: Charles Vidor

Ida Lupino scores as a timid housekeeper who becomes enmeshed in murder and madness. Ida tends to an aged actress (Isobel Elsom) and persuades her to take in her two eccentric sisters (Elsa Lanchester and Edith Barrett). All bets are off when a mysterious stranger (Lupino's then-husband Louis Hayward) arrives to stir the pot further. There is nothing retiring about this suspenseful Victorian noir, which has been unjustly overlooked and underappreciated.


Screening format: 35mm
Egyptian Theatre • Thu, Apr 9, 2015 • 7:30pm
Buy Tickets SHARE

Films in this Series at the Egyptian

Opening Night!
Fri, Apr 3, 2015 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sold Out! Stephen Bogart & Director Steve Anderson In Person! Reception Sponsored by Bogart's Real English Gin!
Sat, Apr 4, 2015 - 5:00pm
Egyptian Theatre
Archival 35mm Prints!
Sun, Apr 5, 2015 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Fri, Apr 10, 2015 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Apr 11, 2015 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, Apr 12, 2015 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Wed, Apr 15, 2015 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Actress Patricia Morison In Person!
Thu, Apr 16, 2015 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
New FNF 35mm Prints!
Fri, Apr 17, 2015 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Apr 18, 2015 - 7:00pm
Egyptian Theatre
Proto-Noir Marathon!
Sun, Apr 19, 2015 - 5:00pm
Egyptian Theatre