Egyptian Theatre
6712 Hollywood Boulevard
Hollywood, CA 90028 Map
Fri, Apr 5, 2019
7:30pm

NOIR CITY: HOLLYWOOD - THE 21st ANNUAL LOS ANGELES FESTIVAL OF FILM NOIR
Double Feature!
THE MIDNIGHT STORY / MONKEY ON MY BACK
Presented by the American Cinematheque and Film Noir Foundation
Introduction by Eddie Muller of the Film Noir Foundation. Discussion between films with MONKEY ON MY BACK actress Kathy Garver.
35 mm!

THE MIDNIGHT STORY
1957, Universal, 89 min, USA, Dir: Joe Pevney

A San Francisco motorcycle cop (Tony Curtis) becomes obsessed with solving the murder of his mentor, a popular North Beach priest. Not allowed to follow his suspicions, he chucks his badge and becomes an undercover vigilante. The prime suspect, a popular Italian patriarch (Gilbert Roland), ends up loving him like his own son. But is he guilty of murder? The San Francisco locations are accentuated by atmospheric black-and-white Cinemascope.


35 mm!

MONKEY ON MY BACK
1957, Park Circus/UA, 93 min, USA, Dir: Andre de Toth

Cameron Mitchell stars in the real-life story of Barney Ross, a former champ addicted to both gambling and morphine. Released at the same time as the similar-themed THE MAN WITH THE GOLDEN ARM, this is a much darker piece of filmmaking – a creepy and unnerving tale in which Mitchell's drug forays are straight out of THE CABINET OF DR. CALIGARI.


MONKEY ON MY BACK print courtesy of Harry Guerro.
Egyptian Theatre • Fri, Apr 5, 2019 • 7:30pm

Films in this Series at the Egyptian

Fri, Mar 29, 2019 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Mar 30, 2019 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, Mar 31, 2019 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Mon, Apr 1, 2019 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Tue, Apr 2, 2019 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Wed, Apr 3, 2019 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Thu, Apr 4, 2019 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Apr 6, 2019 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, Apr 7, 2019 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre