Egyptian Theatre
6712 Hollywood Boulevard
Hollywood, CA 90028 Map
Sun, Apr 5, 2015
7:30pm
Buy Tickets SHARE

NOIR CITY: THE 17TH ANNUAL FESTIVAL OF FILM NOIR
British Marriage Noir Double Feature! Archival 35mm Prints!
THE HIDDEN ROOM / THE SLEEPING TIGER
Presented by the American Cinematheque in collaboration with the Film Noir Foundation.

See a one-page online flyer for the Film Noir series!

Introduction by Eddie Muller of the Film Noir Foundation.
THE HIDDEN ROOM
OBSESSION
1949, Eagle-Lion Films, 96 min, UK, Dir: Edward Dmytryk

British psychologist Clive Riordan (Robert Newton), fed up with his wife’s philandering, makes her latest lover disappear in a deviously devised “perfect crime.” Made in England by the blacklisted Edward Dmytryk, THE HIDDEN ROOM is an unjustly neglected masterpiece, packed with wit and suspense, anchored by Robert Newton’s brilliant and subtle performance as the vengeful cuckold. Costarring Sally Gray and Phil Brown.


THE SLEEPING TIGER
1954, Astor Pictures, 89 min, Dir: Joseph Losey

Psychologist Clive Esmond (Alexander Knox) boards a criminal youth (Dirk Bogarde) in his home, in order to test his methods of behavior modification through psychoanalysis. Just wait until the doctor’s wife (Alexis Smith) gets her hands on the young stud. Losey’s first British-made film is an early example of what would become his métier - characters engaged in wicked sex and class warfare.


Prints courtesy of the British Film Institute.
Egyptian Theatre • Sun, Apr 5, 2015 • 7:30pm
Buy Tickets SHARE

Films in this Series at the Egyptian

Opening Night!
Fri, Apr 3, 2015 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sold Out! Stephen Bogart & Director Steve Anderson In Person! Reception Sponsored by Bogart's Real English Gin!
Sat, Apr 4, 2015 - 5:00pm
Egyptian Theatre
Thu, Apr 9, 2015 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Fri, Apr 10, 2015 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Apr 11, 2015 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, Apr 12, 2015 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Wed, Apr 15, 2015 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Actress Patricia Morison In Person!
Thu, Apr 16, 2015 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
New FNF 35mm Prints!
Fri, Apr 17, 2015 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Apr 18, 2015 - 7:00pm
Egyptian Theatre
Proto-Noir Marathon!
Sun, Apr 19, 2015 - 5:00pm
Egyptian Theatre