Aero Theatre
1328 Montana Avenue,
Santa Monica, CA 90403 Map
Mon, Sep 23, 2013
7:30pm
Buy Tickets SHARE

SATYAJIT RAY RESTORED
Double Feature!
THE COWARD / THE HOLY MAN
Presented in partnership with the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences
THE COWARD (1965)
KAPURUSH
1965, Janus Films, 74 min, India, Dir: Satyajit Ray

A successful screenwriter (Soumitra Chatterjee) is traveling the country researching his next script when his car breaks down in a small town. The owner (Haradhan Bannerjee) of a nearby tea estate offers him a place to stay for the night, and the writer is surprised to discover that his former lover (Madhabi Mukherjee) is now married to the man. Ray makes the most out of this small cast and short time (the film takes place over the course of one day) to create an indelible portrait of missed opportunities. In Bengali with English subtitles.


THE HOLY MAN
MAHAPURUSH
1965, Janus Films, 65 min, India, Dir: Satyajit Ray

Charuprakash Ghosh plays the title role in writer-director Satyajit Ray’s comedic look at a would-be guru. When a widowed lawyer and his daughter become disciples of a man who claims to have known Buddha, Jesus and Einstein, it falls to the girl’s beau and his friends to shine the light of reason on the holy man’s tall tales. In Bengali with English subtitles.


Both films restored by the Satyajit Ray Preservation Project at the Academy Film Archive. 35mm prints courtesy of the Academy Film Archive.
Aero Theatre • Mon, Sep 23, 2013 • 7:30pm
Buy Tickets SHARE

Films in this Series at the Aero

Thu, Sep 12, 2013 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Mon, Sep 16, 2013 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Thu, Sep 26, 2013 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Mon, Sep 30, 2013 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
The Apu Trilogy
Sun, Oct 6, 2013 - 5:00pm
Aero Theatre
Mon, Oct 7, 2013 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Mon, Oct 21, 2013 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre