Egyptian Theatre
6712 Hollywood Boulevard
Hollywood, CA 90028 Map
Fri, Apr 10, 2015
7:30pm
Buy Tickets SHARE

NOIR CITY: THE 17TH ANNUAL FESTIVAL OF FILM NOIR
Cornell Woolrich Double Feature!
THE CHASE / THE LEOPARD MAN
Presented by the American Cinematheque in collaboration with the Film Noir Foundation.
Introduction by Alan K. Rode of the Film Noir Foundation.
35mm Restored Print!

THE CHASE
1946, 86 min, USA, Dir: Arthur Ripley

Scripted by Philip Yordan, from the novel The Black Path of Fear by Cornell Woolrich. In this hallucinatory adaptation, Robert Cummings plays a drifter hired as a chauffeur by two Florida crooks (Steve Cochran and Peter Lorre). He falls for Cochran’s dishy wife (Michelle Morgan) with dire, unpredictable results. As close to Lynch-ian as movies got in the 1940s.


THE LEOPARD MAN
1943, Warner Bros., 66 min, USA, Dir: Jacques Tourneur

This seminal adaptation of Cornell Woolrich’s novel Black Alibi is brilliantly realized by Tourneur and legendary producer Val Lewton. Dennis O'Keefe hires a supposedly tame leopard to hype his girlfriend's nightclub act. The felonious feline escapes as a wave of murderous terror envelops a small New Mexico town. A groundbreaking visualization of dark suspense that remains one of the earliest and finest screen adaptations of Woolrich’s work.


35mm restored print of THE CHASE courtesy of the UCLA Film & Television Archive. Restoration funding provided by The Film Foundation and the Franco-American Cultural Fund. | THE LEOPARD MAN screens in a 35mm print.
Egyptian Theatre • Fri, Apr 10, 2015 • 7:30pm
Buy Tickets SHARE

Films in this Series at the Egyptian

Opening Night!
Fri, Apr 3, 2015 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sold Out! Stephen Bogart & Director Steve Anderson In Person! Reception Sponsored by Bogart's Real English Gin!
Sat, Apr 4, 2015 - 5:00pm
Egyptian Theatre
Archival 35mm Prints!
Sun, Apr 5, 2015 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Thu, Apr 9, 2015 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Apr 11, 2015 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, Apr 12, 2015 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Wed, Apr 15, 2015 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Actress Patricia Morison In Person!
Thu, Apr 16, 2015 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
New FNF 35mm Prints!
Fri, Apr 17, 2015 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Apr 18, 2015 - 7:00pm
Egyptian Theatre
Proto-Noir Marathon!
Sun, Apr 19, 2015 - 5:00pm
Egyptian Theatre