Aero Theatre
1328 Montana Avenue,
Santa Monica, CA 90403 Map
Sat, Feb 4, 2012
4:00pm
Buy Tickets SHARE

CASTLES IN THE SKY: MIYAZAKI, TAKAHATA AND THE MASTERS OF STUDIO GHIBLI 2012
Family Matinee!
THE CAT RETURNS

In this sequel to WHISPER OF THE HEART, a quiet suburban schoolgirl, Haru, is pitched into a fantastical feline world and must find her inner strength to make her way back home. In a show of gratitude for saving his son’s life, the king cat showers Haru with gifts - including a large supply of individually wrapped live mice - and decrees that she shall marry the cat prince and come to live as a princess in the secret Kingdom of Cats.

New 35mm Print!

THE CAT RETURNS
NEKO NO ONGAESHI
2002, Studio Ghibli, 75 min, Japan, Dir: Hiroyuki Morita

In this sequel to WHISPER OF THE HEART, quiet suburban schoolgirl Haru is pitched into a fantastical feline world and must find her inner strength to make her way back home. Walking with her friend after a dreary day at school, Haru eyes a cat with a small gift box in its mouth. Attempting to cross a busy street, the cat fumbles the package in the middle of the road as a truck is rapidly bearing down. Haru manages to scoop the cat away to safety. To her amazement, the cat then gets up on its hind legs, brushes itself off and thanks her very politely. Strange behavior indeed, but this is nothing compared to what happens later that evening when the King of Cats shows up in a feline motorcade replete with vassals, maidens, and even Secret Service cats. In a show of gratitude for saving his son’s life, the king cat showers Haru with gifts - including a large supply of individually wrapped live mice - and decrees that she shall marry the cat prince and come to live as a princess in the secret Kingdom of Cats.


Dubbed in English from Japanese. Recommended ages: 6+ to Adult.
Aero Theatre • Sat, Feb 4, 2012 • 4:00pm
Buy Tickets SHARE

Films in this Series at the Egyptian

20th Anniversary!
Thu, Jan 26, 2012 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Jan 28, 2012 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Fri, Feb 3, 2012 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Tue, Feb 7, 2012 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, Feb 12, 2012 - 4:00pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sold Out!
Sun, Feb 12, 2012 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Added Screening of the Japanese Language Version!
Wed, Feb 29, 2012 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre

Films in this Series at the Aero

Fri, Jan 27, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Sun, Jan 29, 2012 - 4:00pm
Aero Theatre
Sun, Jan 29, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Not available in any North American home viewing formats.
Thu, Feb 2, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Sold Out!
Sat, Feb 4, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Added Screening!
Tue, Feb 7, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Wed, Feb 8, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Rarely Screened in Los Angeles!
Thu, Feb 9, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
In-Person Guests!
Fri, Feb 10, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Sat, Feb 11, 2012 - 4:00pm
Aero Theatre
Sneak Preview!
Mon, Feb 13, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre