Egyptian Theatre
6712 Hollywood Boulevard
Hollywood, CA 90028 Map
Thu, Jul 26, 2012
7:30pm

SPAGHETTI WESTERNS UNCHAINED
Double Feature!
THE BIG GUNDOWN / THE HILLS RUN RED
Program courtesy of Film Forum
New DCP!

THE BIG GUNDOWN
1966, Sony Repertory, 110 min, Italy, Dir: Sergio Sollima

Ruthless Texas lawman Lee Van Cleef pursues fugitive Cuchillo (Tomas Milian), a peasant who has been framed for a child's murder. Working from a story by screenwriter Franco Solinas (THE BATTLE OF ALGIERS), director Sergio Sollima infuses the standard spaghetti Western formulas with a conscious sense of class-driven politics - and plenty of brutal action. In Italian with English subtitles.


THE HILLS RUN RED
1966, MGM/Park Circus, 89 min, Italy, Dir: Carlo Lizzani

Ex-Confederate soldiers Thomas Hunter and Nando Gazollo turn to crime, but when a heist sends Hunter to jail and Gazollo ends up with the loot, the newly incarcerated Hunter vows revenge. When he gets out of jail, he discovers that his old partner has killed his family and teamed up with psycho Henry Silva - luckily, mysterious gunman Dan Duryea proves to be a useful ally in Hunter's quest for revenge. In English.


Screening formats: DCP (THE BIG GUNDOWN) and 35mm (THE HILLS RUN RED)
Egyptian Theatre • Thu, Jul 26, 2012 • 7:30pm

Films in this Series at the Egyptian

Fri, Jul 27, 2012 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Jul 28, 2012 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, Jul 29, 2012 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Monte Hellman In Person!
Thu, Aug 2, 2012 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Fri, Aug 3, 2012 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Wed, Aug 8, 2012 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Mark Damon In Person!
Thu, Aug 9, 2012 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Fri, Aug 10, 2012 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Aug 11, 2012 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Added Screening!
Sat, Aug 11, 2012 - 11:00pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, Aug 12, 2012 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre

Films in this Series at the Aero

Sat, Aug 4, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Sun, Aug 5, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre