Egyptian Theatre
6712 Hollywood Boulevard
Hollywood, CA 90028 Map
Fri, Mar 29, 2013
7:30pm
Buy Tickets SHARE

ON THE ROAD: CINEMATIC JOURNEYS
Double Feature!
STRANGER THAN PARADISE / DEAD MAN
STRANGER THAN PARADISE
1984, Janus Films, 89 min, USA, Dir: Jim Jarmusch

This deadpan comedy became one of the most influential films of the 1980s, "casting a wide shadow over the new generation of independent American filmmakers to come.... Its style is minimalism itself, but the post-beatnik cool of John Lurie, Richard Edson and Eszter Balint somehow betrays the fact that they care about each other, and a loopy charm and subtle but potent humor seeps through the film's stark black-and-white images.” - Mark Deming, All Movie Guide


DEAD MAN
1995, Miramax, 121 min, USA, Dir: Jim Jarmusch

Accountant William Blake (Johnny Depp) is expelled from a frontier town with a bullet lodged in his chest and a trio of bounty hunters at his heels. Fortunately, he is befriended by Nobody (Gary Farmer), a Native American who escorts him to the Pacific coast, where his destiny lies. Described by director Jim Jarmusch as a “psychedelic Western,” this haunting black-and-white vision features a soundtrack by Neil Young and a memorable supporting cast including Gabriel Byrne, Iggy Pop and, in his final film, Robert Mitchum. “One of the very best movies of the 1990s.” - A. O. Scott, The New York Times


Screening format: 35mm
Egyptian Theatre • Fri, Mar 29, 2013 • 7:30pm
Buy Tickets SHARE

Films in this Series at the Egyptian

Thu, Mar 7, 2013 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Mar 9, 2013 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Free Members-Only Screening
Wed, Mar 13, 2013 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Thu, Mar 14, 2013 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Actor Paul Koslo In Person!
Sat, Mar 16, 2013 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Illustrated Talk & Screening!
Sun, Mar 17, 2013 - 5:00pm
Egyptian Theatre
Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, Mar 24, 2013 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Thu, Mar 28, 2013 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Mar 30, 2013 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre

Films in this Series at the Aero

Director Monte Hellman In Person!
Sun, Mar 3, 2013 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Sun, Mar 10, 2013 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Book Signing With Author Glenn Frankel!
Mon, Mar 11, 2013 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Book Signing & Director Hal Needham In Person!
Fri, Mar 15, 2013 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Sun, Mar 24, 2013 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre