Egyptian Theatre
6712 Hollywood Boulevard
Hollywood, CA 90028 Map
Sat, Mar 29, 2014
7:30pm

NOIR CITY: HOLLYWOOD, 16TH ANNUAL FESTIVAL OF FILM NOIR
Los Angeles Noir Double Feature!
SOUTHSIDE 1-1000 / ROADBLOCK
Presented by the American Cinematheque and the Film Noir Foundation

6:30 PM: Before our L.A. noir double feature, join the Southern California chapter of the Mystery Writers of America for an informative discussion on Los Angeles' noir heritage in film and literature. Panelists include novelists Eric Beetner (Dig Two Graves), P.G. Sturges (the Shortcut Man series), and Steph Cha (Follow Her Home). Book signing in the Egyptian lobby beginning at 6:30 PM, followed by panel discussion.

Double feature begins at 7:30 PM. Introduction by Alan K. Rode of the Film Noir Foundation.
New 35mm Print!

SOUTHSIDE 1-1000
1950, Warner Bros., 73 min, USA, Dir: Boris Ingster

Slam-bang crime drama courtesy of the King Brothers is highlighted by downtown L.A., Hollywood and San Quentin prison locations as Don DeFore goes undercover to smash up a counterfeiting ring. Sultry Andrea King, George Tobias, Barry Kelley and Morris Ankrum co-star.


ROADBLOCK
1951, Warner Bros., 73 min, USA, Dir: Harold Daniels

After several years of playing tenacious cops or cruel gunmen, character actor Charles McGraw was elevated to leading-man status by RKO boss Howard Hughes, becoming the studio's "B" version of Bob Mitchum. Nobody could clip off dialogue like McGraw. In this prototypical noir, he finally reveals a soft center, as an insurance investigator who goes crooked trying to satisfy an avaricious dame (Joan Dixon).


Screening format: 35mm
Egyptian Theatre • Sat, Mar 29, 2014 • 7:30pm

Films in this Series at the Egyptian

Opening Night!
Fri, Mar 21, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Mar 22, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, Mar 23, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Wed, Mar 26, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Thu, Mar 27, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Fri, Mar 28, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, Mar 30, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Wed, Apr 2, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Thu, Apr 3, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Fri, Apr 4, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Apr 5, 2014 - 7:00pm
Egyptian Theatre
Newly Restored 35mm Prints! Discussion with Author Mary Ann Anderson!
Sun, Apr 6, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre