Egyptian Theatre
6712 Hollywood Boulevard
Hollywood, CA 90028 Map
Thu, Jan 26, 2012
7:30pm

CASTLES IN THE SKY: MIYAZAKI, TAKAHATA AND THE MASTERS OF STUDIO GHIBLI 2012
20th Anniversary!
PORCO ROSSO
New 35mm Print!

PORCO ROSSO
1992, Studio Ghibli, 94 min, Japan, Dir: Hayao Miyazaki

This unsung treasure from Hayao Miyazaki nestles a tale of morality and identity inside a soaring tribute to early aviation and the reckless flyboys whose home was the open sky. Set in a mid-WWII Italy swept by fascism, the film follows Marco, a world-weary flying ace turned bounty hunter, who plies his trade above the waters of the Adriatic. Somewhere along the way a curse has transformed Marco’s head into that of a pig, reflecting his loss of faith in humanity. Marco meets his polar opposite in the innocent and energetic 17-year-old Fio, an aspiring airplane designer, and the two are catapulted into an airborne adventure pursued by air pirates, the Italian army and an egotistical American flying ace.


In Japanese with English subtitles. Screening format: 35mm. Recommended Ages: 8+ to Adult.
Egyptian Theatre • Thu, Jan 26, 2012 • 7:30pm

Films in this Series at the Egyptian

Sat, Jan 28, 2012 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Fri, Feb 3, 2012 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Tue, Feb 7, 2012 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, Feb 12, 2012 - 4:00pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sold Out!
Sun, Feb 12, 2012 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Added Screening of the Japanese Language Version!
Wed, Feb 29, 2012 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre

Films in this Series at the Aero

Fri, Jan 27, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Sun, Jan 29, 2012 - 4:00pm
Aero Theatre
Sun, Jan 29, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Not available in any North American home viewing formats.
Thu, Feb 2, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Sat, Feb 4, 2012 - 4:00pm
Aero Theatre
Sold Out!
Sat, Feb 4, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Added Screening!
Tue, Feb 7, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Wed, Feb 8, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Rarely Screened in Los Angeles!
Thu, Feb 9, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
In-Person Guests!
Fri, Feb 10, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Sat, Feb 11, 2012 - 4:00pm
Aero Theatre
Sneak Preview!
Mon, Feb 13, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre