Aero Theatre
1328 Montana Avenue,
Santa Monica, CA 90403 Map
Thu, Feb 9, 2012
7:30pm
Buy Tickets SHARE

CASTLES IN THE SKY: MIYAZAKI, TAKAHATA AND THE MASTERS OF STUDIO GHIBLI 2012
Rarely Screened in Los Angeles!
ONLY YESTERDAY

This quintessential drama of Japanese school-day nostalgia was directed by Isao Takahata and produced by Hayao Miyazaki. The period film follows bored twentysomething Taeko as she heads on a trip to the countryside, which dredges up forgotten adolescent memories of the 1960s in flashbacks.

New 35mm Print!

ONLY YESTERDAY
OMOHIDE PORO PORO
1991, Studio Ghibli, 118 min, Japan, Dir: Isao Takahata

Realizing that she is at a crossroads in her life, bored twenty-something Taeko heads for the countryside. The trip dredges up forgotten childhood memories that unfold in flashback to younger years: the first immature stirrings of romance, the onset of puberty, the frustrations of math and boys. In lyrical switches between the present and the past, Taeko wonders if she has been true to the dreams of her childhood self. Directed by Isao Takahata and produced by Hayao Miyazaki, ONLY YESTERDAY is a double period piece that beautifully evokes both the 1960s and the 1980s, and the quintessential drama of Japanese school-day nostalgia. Studio Ghibli is known for its female heroines, from Princesses Nausicaa and Mononoke to Kiki to Ponyo - but with ONLY YESTERDAY it delves deeper into the real emotional experiences of girls/women than perhaps any animated film before or since. Not available in any North American home viewing formats.


In Japanese with English subtitles. Recommended ages: 9+ to adult.
Aero Theatre • Thu, Feb 9, 2012 • 7:30pm
Buy Tickets SHARE

Films in this Series at the Egyptian

20th Anniversary!
Thu, Jan 26, 2012 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Jan 28, 2012 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Fri, Feb 3, 2012 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Tue, Feb 7, 2012 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, Feb 12, 2012 - 4:00pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sold Out!
Sun, Feb 12, 2012 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Added Screening of the Japanese Language Version!
Wed, Feb 29, 2012 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre

Films in this Series at the Aero

Fri, Jan 27, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Sun, Jan 29, 2012 - 4:00pm
Aero Theatre
Sun, Jan 29, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Not available in any North American home viewing formats.
Thu, Feb 2, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Sat, Feb 4, 2012 - 4:00pm
Aero Theatre
Sold Out!
Sat, Feb 4, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Added Screening!
Tue, Feb 7, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Wed, Feb 8, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
In-Person Guests!
Fri, Feb 10, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Sat, Feb 11, 2012 - 4:00pm
Aero Theatre
Sneak Preview!
Mon, Feb 13, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre