Aero Theatre
1328 Montana Avenue,
Santa Monica, CA 90403 Map
Thu, Feb 2, 2012
7:30pm
Buy Tickets SHARE

CASTLES IN THE SKY: MIYAZAKI, TAKAHATA AND THE MASTERS OF STUDIO GHIBLI 2012
Not available in any North American home viewing formats.
OCEAN WAVES

This subtle, poignant and wonderfully detailed story of adolescence and teenage isolation is rarely seen outside of Japan. The friendship of two best friends is tested by a beautiful new transfer student from Tokyo who vacillates from wildly flirty and flippant to melancholic.

Los Angeles Premiere!

OCEAN WAVES
UMI GA KIKOERU
1993, Studio Ghibli, 72 min, Japan, Dir: Tomomi Mochizuki

This subtle, poignant and wonderfully detailed story of adolescence and teenage isolation is rarely seen outside of Japan. Taku and his best friend Yutaka are headed back to school for what looks like another uneventful year. But they soon find their friendship tested by the arrival of Rikako, a beautiful new transfer student from Tokyo, whose attitude vacillates wildly from flirty and flippant to melancholic. When Taku joins Rikako on a trip to Tokyo, the school erupts with rumors, and the three friends are forced to come to terms with their changing relationships. OCEAN WAVES was the first Studio Ghibli film directed by someone other than studio founders Hayao Miyazaki and Isao Takahata, as director Tomomi Mochizuki led a talented staff of younger employees in an adaptation of Saeko Himuro’s best-selling novel. Full of shots bathed in a palette of pleasingly soft pastel colors and rich in the unexpected visual details typical of Studio Ghibli’s most revered works, OCEAN WAVES is an accomplished teenage drama and a true discovery. Not available in any North American home viewing formats.


In Japanese with English subtitles. Recommended ages: 8+ to Adult.
Aero Theatre • Thu, Feb 2, 2012 • 7:30pm
Buy Tickets SHARE

Films in this Series at the Egyptian

20th Anniversary!
Thu, Jan 26, 2012 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Jan 28, 2012 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Fri, Feb 3, 2012 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Tue, Feb 7, 2012 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, Feb 12, 2012 - 4:00pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sold Out!
Sun, Feb 12, 2012 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Added Screening of the Japanese Language Version!
Wed, Feb 29, 2012 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre

Films in this Series at the Aero

Fri, Jan 27, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Sun, Jan 29, 2012 - 4:00pm
Aero Theatre
Sun, Jan 29, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Sat, Feb 4, 2012 - 4:00pm
Aero Theatre
Sold Out!
Sat, Feb 4, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Added Screening!
Tue, Feb 7, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Wed, Feb 8, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Rarely Screened in Los Angeles!
Thu, Feb 9, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
In-Person Guests!
Fri, Feb 10, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Sat, Feb 11, 2012 - 4:00pm
Aero Theatre
Sneak Preview!
Mon, Feb 13, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre