Egyptian Theatre
6712 Hollywood Boulevard
Hollywood, CA 90028 Map
Sun, Feb 12, 2012
7:30pm
Buy Tickets SHARE

CASTLES IN THE SKY: MIYAZAKI, TAKAHATA AND THE MASTERS OF STUDIO GHIBLI 2012
Sold Out!
MY NEIGHBOR TOTORO

This screening is now sold out!

Hayao Miyazaki's third Studio Ghibli feature is the story of two young sisters who explore the vast forest near their new house. There, they discover wondrous forest spirits and dust bunnies as well as Totoro, a giant lumbering bunny-esque creature that lets the girls curl up on his tummy to take a nap.

New 35mm Print!

MY NEIGHBOR TOTORO
TONARI NO TOTORO
1988, Studio Ghibli, 86 min, Japan, Dir: Hayao Miyazaki

The third Studio Ghibli feature from former Toei animator turned writer-producer-director-entrepreneur Hayao Miyazaki tells the story of young sisters Satsuki and Mei Kusakabe, who move with their father into a new house near a vast forest, in order to be closer to their ailing, hospitalized mother. Discovering wondrous forest spirits, they also encounter Totoro, a giant, lumbering, bunny-esque creature. "Here is a children's film made for the world we should live in, rather than the one we occupy. A film with no villains. No fight scenes. No evil adults. No fighting between the two kids. No scary monsters. No darkness before the dawn. A world that is benign. A world where, if you meet a strange towering creature in the forest, you curl up on its tummy and have a nap. MY NEIGHBOR TOTORO has become one of the most beloved of all family films without ever having been much promoted or advertised." - Roger Ebert, Chicago Sun-Times.


In Japanese with English subtitles. Screening format: 35mm. Recommended ages: 10+ to Adult.
Egyptian Theatre • Sun, Feb 12, 2012 • 7:30pm
Buy Tickets SHARE

Films in this Series at the Egyptian

20th Anniversary!
Thu, Jan 26, 2012 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Jan 28, 2012 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Fri, Feb 3, 2012 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Tue, Feb 7, 2012 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, Feb 12, 2012 - 4:00pm
Egyptian Theatre
Added Screening of the Japanese Language Version!
Wed, Feb 29, 2012 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre

Films in this Series at the Aero

Fri, Jan 27, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Sun, Jan 29, 2012 - 4:00pm
Aero Theatre
Sun, Jan 29, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Not available in any North American home viewing formats.
Thu, Feb 2, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Sat, Feb 4, 2012 - 4:00pm
Aero Theatre
Sold Out!
Sat, Feb 4, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Added Screening!
Tue, Feb 7, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Wed, Feb 8, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Rarely Screened in Los Angeles!
Thu, Feb 9, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
In-Person Guests!
Fri, Feb 10, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Sat, Feb 11, 2012 - 4:00pm
Aero Theatre
Sneak Preview!
Mon, Feb 13, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre