Egyptian Theatre
6712 Hollywood Boulevard
Hollywood, CA 90028 Map
Fri, Mar 28, 2014
7:30pm
Buy Tickets SHARE

NOIR CITY: HOLLYWOOD, 16TH ANNUAL FESTIVAL OF FILM NOIR
French & American Noir Double Feature!
JENNY LAMOUR / ANGELS OVER BROADWAY
Presented by the American Cinematheque and the Film Noir Foundation
Introduction by Alan K. Rode of the Film Noir Foundation.
JENNY LAMOUR
QUAI DES ORFÈVRES
1947, Rialto Pictures, 102 min, France, Dir: Henri-Georges Clouzot

Maurice (Bertrand Blier), the jealous husband of ambitious cabaret chanteuse Jenny (Suzy Delair), is blamed for murder when a lecherous movie producer turns up dead. Director Henri-Georges Clouzot spins a classic police procedural, following dauntless Inspector Antoine (French actor Louis Jouvet, in his greatest role) as he doggedly goes about untying the knots in this delightfully perplexing, character-driven mystery. In French with English subtitles.


ANGELS OVER BROADWAY
1940, Sony Repertory, 79 min, USA, Dir: Ben Hecht, Lee Garmes

An off-beat, mordant melodrama that was written, directed and produced by the great Ben Hecht. A con-man (Douglas Fairbanks Jr.) lures a suicidal embezzler into a rigged poker game with an unemployed chanteuse (Rita Hayworth) only to have the tables turned by a boozing playwright (Thomas Mitchell in a superb performance). Hecht received an Oscar nomination for Best Original Screenplay with co-director Lee Garmes providing the shadowed cinematography.


Screening format: 35mm
Egyptian Theatre • Fri, Mar 28, 2014 • 7:30pm
Buy Tickets SHARE

Films in this Series at the Egyptian

Opening Night!
Fri, Mar 21, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Mar 22, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, Mar 23, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Wed, Mar 26, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Thu, Mar 27, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Mar 29, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, Mar 30, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Wed, Apr 2, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Thu, Apr 3, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Fri, Apr 4, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Apr 5, 2014 - 7:00pm
Egyptian Theatre
Newly Restored 35mm Prints! Discussion with Author Mary Ann Anderson!
Sun, Apr 6, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre