Aero Theatre
1328 Montana Avenue,
Santa Monica, CA 90403 Map
Thu, Jul 12, 2012 - Sat, Aug 4, 2012
Buy Tickets SHARE

IN SPECTACULAR DIGITAL CINEMA: CLASSICS AND RESTORATIONS ON THE BIG SCREEN

July 12 – August 4, 2012

In this time of rapid technological change within the film industry, the American Cinematheque remains committed to the traditional beauty of film prints while also embracing the impressive developments being made in digital projection. We’ve always been dedicated to showcasing a variety of top-notch formats - from 70mm, to six-track magnetic sound, to nitrate, to dye transfer - and the DCP (digital cinema package) is no different. The DCP format is unique in various ways: Uncompressed sound, zero generational degradations and the ability to scan negatives at high rates (labeled as 2K, 4K and 8K). These elements allow for perfect detail and color while retaining film grain and, in some situations, recreating the look of Technicolor. To unveil the Aero Theatre's new state-of-the-art 4K digital projector, we have programmed a Summer of classic films, screening in gorgeous DCP presentations as you’ve never seen them before.

Included in the series are well known classics from the various studios, such as GONE WITH THE WIND, CITIZEN KANE, THE DEER HUNTER, LAURA, SNOW WHITE AND THE SEVEN DWARFS, 2001: A SPACE ODYSSEY, TAXI DRIVER, THE TEN COMMANDMENTS, CASABLANCA and many more.

Read our blog for more details on our new digital additions!

Aero TheatreThu, Jul 12, 2012 - Sat, Aug 4, 2012
Buy Tickets SHARE

Films in this Series at the Aero

Restored 170-Minute Version!
Thu, Jul 12, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Restored!
Fri, Jul 13, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Ann Rutherford Tribute
Sat, Jul 14, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Sun, Jul 15, 2012 - 4:00pm
Aero Theatre
Thu, Jul 19, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Fri, Jul 20, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Montana Ave Artwalk!
Sat, Jul 21, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
75th Anniversary! Family Matinee! Montana Ave Artwalk!
Sun, Jul 22, 2012 - 4:00pm
Aero Theatre
Montana Ave Artwalk!
Sun, Jul 22, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Thu, Jul 26, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Fri, Jul 27, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Canceled Screening
Sat, Jul 28, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Sat, Jul 28, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Sun, Jul 29, 2012 - 5:00pm
Aero Theatre
Wed, Aug 1, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Thu, Aug 2, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Fri, Aug 3, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Sun, Aug 5, 2012 - 4:00pm
Aero Theatre