Egyptian Theatre
6712 Hollywood Boulevard
Hollywood, CA 90028 Map
Thu, Apr 21, 2016
7:30pm

NOIR CITY: FILM NOIR FESTIVAL 2016
Double Feature!
DEEP VALLEY / FLAXY MARTIN
NOIR CITY: HOLLYWOOD THE 18th ANNUAL LOS ANGELES FESTIVAL OF FILM NOIR is presented by the American Cinematheque and Film Noir Foundation

For more information about the Film Noir Foundation click here.

Introduction by Alan K. Rode of the Film Noir Foundation.
35 mm!

DEEP VALLEY
1947, Warner Bros., 104 min, Dir: Jean Negulesco

A shy girl (Ida Lupino) raised on a remote coastal farm by unloving parents (Henry Hull and Fay Bainter) has her world turned upside down when she falls in love with an escaped convict (Dane Clark) being hunted by a posse. One of Lupino’s most sensitive performances is bolstered by a nuanced screenplay by Salka Viertel and assured direction by Negulesco. Also starring Wayne Morris. Filmed on location at Palos Verdes and Big Bear Lake.


35mm Archival Print!

FLAXY MARTIN
1949, Warner Bros., 86 min, Dir: Richard L. Bare

The double-crosses and plot twists pile up after nightclub singer Virginia Mayo frames lawyer Zachary Scott for mob boss Douglas Kennedy. A librarian (Dorothy Malone) and a knife-wielding thug (Elisha Cook, Jr.) provide additional diversions in this breakneck crime melodrama that is peopled with a plethora of familiar faces.


Screening format: 35mm. Print of FLAXY MARTIN courtesy of the Library of Congress.
Egyptian Theatre • Thu, Apr 21, 2016 • 7:30pm

Films in this Series at the Egyptian

Fri, Apr 15, 2016 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Apr 16, 2016 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, Apr 17, 2016 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Mon, Apr 18, 2016 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Tue, Apr 19, 2016 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Wed, Apr 20, 2016 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Fri, Apr 22, 2016 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Apr 23, 2016 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, Apr 24, 2016 - 5:00pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, Apr 24, 2016 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre