Egyptian Theatre
6712 Hollywood Boulevard
Hollywood, CA 90028 Map
Wed, Apr 17, 2013
7:30pm
Buy Tickets SHARE

Noir City: Hollywood, 15th Annual Festival Of Film Noir
Robert Siodmak Double Feature!
CRY OF THE CITY / THE KILLERS
Presented in collaboration with the Film Noir Foundation
CRY OF THE CITY
1948, 20th Century Fox, 95 min, USA, Dir: Robert Siodmak

Perhaps the best realized of director Robert Siodmak’s films noir indelibly relates the enduring theme (based on Henry Helseth’s novel The Chair for Martin Rome) of neighborhood pals who tread divergent courses. Victor Mature becomes a lawman, Richard Conte goes crooked. The two square off all across Manhattan with tragic results. Siodmak eschewed the semi-documentary style then in vogue at Fox creating instead a vivid, Expressionistic urban landscape that ideally suited this mythic mid-20th-century tale of good and evil. Co-starring Shelley Winters, Fred Clark and that Amazonian nightmare, Hope Emerson.


THE KILLERS (1946)
1946, Universal, 103 min, USA, Dir: Robert Siodmak

The CITIZEN KANE of film noir that begins with the ending - "I did something wrong ... once" - and moves backward through interweaving flashbacks to reveal the layer of double crosses that led to the opening scene. The script by Anthony Veiller (with an uncredited assist from John Huston) takes the first 10 minutes from Hemingway's short story and then spirals into the noir netherworld that Robert Siodmak depicted better than any other director. The smoldering sexuality between Burt Lancaster and Ava Gardner catapulted both to super-stardom. With Edmond O’Brien and Jeff Corey.


Screening formats: DCP (CRY OF THE CITY) and 35mm (THE KILLERS)
Egyptian Theatre • Wed, Apr 17, 2013 • 7:30pm
Buy Tickets SHARE

Films in this Series at the Egyptian

Opening Night!
Fri, Apr 5, 2013 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Apr 6, 2013 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, Apr 7, 2013 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Wed, Apr 10, 2013 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Thu, Apr 11, 2013 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
New 35mm Prints!
Fri, Apr 12, 2013 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Apr 13, 2013 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, Apr 14, 2013 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Archival Prints!
Fri, Apr 19, 2013 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Dean Mora's Swingtet, Burlesque, Drinks, Gambling Den, Mugshots, Noir CIty Scavenger Hunt
Sun, Apr 21, 2013 - 6:00pm
Egyptian Theatre

Films in this Series at the Aero

3-D Noir! 60th Anniversaries!
Sat, Apr 20, 2013 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre