Aero Theatre
1328 Montana Avenue,
Santa Monica, CA 90403 Map
Thu, May 17, 2018
7:30pm

THE SEASON OF BERGMAN
Double Feature!
CRIES AND WHISPERS / SUMMER INTERLUDE
Presented in association with the Swedish Film Institute and the Ingmar Bergman Foundation.
35 mm!

CRIES AND WHISPERS
VISKNIGAR OCH ROP
1972, Janus Films, 106 min, Sweden, Dir: Ingmar Bergman

Amid the blood-red backgrounds of a turn-of-the-century mansion and the atmosphere of a dream, Liv Ullmann and Ingrid Thulin keep a death watch over spinster sister Harriet Andersson, while flashbacks depict the disappointed lives, meaningless marriages and sisterly conflicts, with a final moving image suggesting what has been lost. In Swedish with English subtitles.


SUMMER INTERLUDE
SOMMARLEK
1951, Janus Films, 96 min, Sweden, Dir: Ingmar Bergman

A film that the director considered a creative turning point, this reverie about life and death unites Bergman’s love of theater and cinema, and touches on many of the themes that would define the rest of his legendary career - isolation, performance and the inescapability of the past. In one of the director’s great early female roles, Maj-Britt Nilsson beguiles as an accomplished ballet dancer haunted by her tragic youthful affair with a shy, handsome student (Birger Malmsten). Her memories of the sunny, rocky shores of Stockholm’s outer archipelago mingle with scenes from her gloomy present, most of them set in the dark backstage environs of the theater where she works.


Both films in Swedish with English subtitles. | Screening formats: 35mm (CRIES AND WHISPERS), DCP (SUMMER INTERLUDE)
Aero Theatre • Thu, May 17, 2018 • 7:30pm

Films in this Series at the Egyptian

Fri, May 4, 2018 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, May 5, 2018 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, May 6, 2018 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Thu, May 10, 2018 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Fri, May 11, 2018 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, May 12, 2018 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre

Films in this Series at the Aero

Wed, May 16, 2018 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Fri, May 18, 2018 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Sat, May 19, 2018 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Sun, May 20, 2018 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre