Egyptian Theatre
6712 Hollywood Boulevard
Hollywood, CA 90028 Map
Fri, Jan 11, 2013
7:30pm
Buy Tickets SHARE

MOTION PICTURESQUE: CINEMA AT ITS MOST BEAUTIFUL
Orson Welles Double Feature!
CITIZEN KANE / THE MAGNIFICENT AMBERSONS
CITIZEN KANE
1941, Warner Bros., 119 min, USA, Dir: Orson Welles

Orson Welles was only 25 when he directed this masterpiece, and it remains one of the most phenomenal motion pictures ever made. Welles, of course, also stars as Charles Foster Kane, a ruthless man who built a newspaper publishing empire and a character supposedly modeled after the real-life William Randolph Hearst. Trailblazing in so many respects, from Gregg Toland’s complex camera and lighting to Bernard Herrmann’s score to one of the finest ensemble casts (including Joseph Cotten, Everett Sloane and Agnes Moorehead) ever assembled. With an Academy Award-winning script by Welles and Herman J. Mankiewicz.


THE MAGNIFICENT AMBERSONS
1942, Warner Bros., 88 min, USA, Dir: Orson Welles

Director Orson Welles' poetic, tragic adaptation of Booth Tarkington's novel, centering on the fall of one wealthy family, with Stanley Cortez's dynamic camerawork providing a panorama of turn-of-the-century America and the decay of the old aristocracy.


Screening formats: DCP (CITIZEN KANE) and 35mm (THE MAGNIFICENT AMBERSONS)
Egyptian Theatre • Fri, Jan 11, 2013 • 7:30pm
Buy Tickets SHARE

Films in this Series at the Egyptian

Thu, Jan 3, 2013 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Fri, Jan 4, 2013 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Jan 5, 2013 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, Jan 6, 2013 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
50th Anniversary!
Sat, Jan 12, 2013 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, Jan 27, 2013 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre

Films in this Series at the Aero

Thu, Jan 3, 2013 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
50th Anniversary! Haskell Wexler In Person!
Sun, Jan 13, 2013 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Fri, Jan 18, 2013 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Thu, Jan 24, 2013 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre