Aero Theatre
1328 Montana Avenue,
Santa Monica, CA 90403 Map
Thu, Aug 17, 2017
7:30pm
Buy Tickets SHARE

THE RETURN OF 70MM
Producer Mark Magidson In Person!
BARAKA
Discussion following with producer Mark Magidson.
70mm! 25th Anniversary!

BARAKA
1992, Magidson Films, 96 min, USA, Dir: Ron Fricke

If you have never seen BARAKA, one of the Cinematheque’s favorite movies, this is another chance to experience one of the most visually awesome films ever made. Inspired by the Sufi word meaning "breath of life," BARAKA is a mind-expanding, spiritual journey around the globe (shot in 24 countries on five continents), from director-cinematographer Ron Fricke (who photographed the earlier KOYAANISQATSI) and producer Mark Magidson (the Imax film CHRONOS). Filmed entirely without dialogue in a stunning cascade of crystalline, time-lapse 70mm images, BARAKA is quite simply breathtaking. "Smashingly edited, superbly scored … speaks volumes about the planet without uttering a single word." - Suzan Ayscough, Variety.


Special Ticket Prices: $15 General, $13 Cinematheque Members. No vouchers.
Aero Theatre • Thu, Aug 17, 2017 • 7:30pm
Buy Tickets SHARE

Films in this Series at the Aero

Thu, Aug 10, 2017 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Fri, Aug 11, 2017 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Sat, Aug 12, 2017 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Sun, Aug 13, 2017 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Fri, Aug 18, 2017 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Sat, Aug 19, 2017 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Family Matinee!
Sun, Aug 20, 2017 - 2:00pm
Aero Theatre
Sun, Aug 20, 2017 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Thu, Aug 31, 2017 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Fri, Sep 1, 2017 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre