Aero Theatre
1328 Montana Avenue,
Santa Monica, CA 90403 Map
Thu, Aug 22, 2013
7:30pm
Buy Tickets SHARE

SET THE ASPECT RATIO TO STUN: MOVIES IN 70MM
70mm Print! Producer Mark Magidson In Person!
BARAKA
Discussion following with producer Mark Magidson, schedule permitting.
BARAKA
1992, Magidson Films, 96 min, USA, Dir: Ron Fricke

If you have never seen BARAKA, one of the Cinematheque’s favorite movies, this is another chance to experience one of the most visually awesome films ever made. Inspired by the Sufi word meaning "breath of life," BARAKA is a mind-expanding, spiritual journey around the globe (shot in 24 countries on five continents), from director-cinematographer Ron Fricke (who photographed the earlier KOYAANISQATSI) and producer Mark Magidson (the Imax film CHRONOS). Filmed entirely without dialogue in a stunning cascade of crystalline, time-lapse 70mm images, BARAKA is quite simply breathtaking. "Smashingly edited, superbly scored … speaks volumes about the planet without uttering a single word." - Suzan Ayscough, Variety.


Aero Theatre • Thu, Aug 22, 2013 • 7:30pm
Buy Tickets SHARE

Films in this Series at the Aero

70mm Print!
Sat, Aug 3, 2013 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
70mm Print!
Fri, Aug 9, 2013 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
70mm Print!
Sat, Aug 10, 2013 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
70mm Print!
Fri, Aug 16, 2013 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
70mm Prints!
Sun, Aug 18, 2013 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
70mm Print!
Sat, Aug 24, 2013 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
70mm Print! Steve Railsback In Person!
Fri, Aug 30, 2013 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
70mm Print! 50th Anniversary!
Sat, Aug 31, 2013 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
70mm Print!
Sun, Sep 1, 2013 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre