Aero Theatre
1328 Montana Avenue,
Santa Monica, CA 90403 Map
Sun, Jan 13, 2013
7:30pm
Buy Tickets SHARE

MOTION PICTURESQUE: CINEMA AT ITS MOST BEAUTIFUL
50th Anniversary! Haskell Wexler In Person!
AMERICA, AMERICA
Discussion following with cinematographer Haskell Wexler.
AMERICA, AMERICA
1963, Warner Bros., 174 min, USA, Dir: Elia Kazan

This sprawling epic about a young Greek, Stavros (based on Kazan’s uncle), living with his family in Turkey circa 1900 and obsessed with emigrating to America, is one of Kazan’s most moving, personal films. Kazan molds a talented cast of relatively unknown performers into a powerhouse ensemble: Stathis Giallelis is perfect as Stavros, with able support from John Marley, Lou Antonio, Joanna Frank and the underrated yet terrific Frank Wolff. Be sure to catch this masterpiece on the big screen. "May be Kazan’s most accomplished work." - Time Out New York


Screening format: 35mm
Aero Theatre • Sun, Jan 13, 2013 • 7:30pm
Buy Tickets SHARE

Films in this Series at the Egyptian

Thu, Jan 3, 2013 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Fri, Jan 4, 2013 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Jan 5, 2013 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, Jan 6, 2013 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Fri, Jan 11, 2013 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
50th Anniversary!
Sat, Jan 12, 2013 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, Jan 27, 2013 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre

Films in this Series at the Aero

Thu, Jan 3, 2013 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Fri, Jan 18, 2013 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Thu, Jan 24, 2013 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre