Aero Theatre
1328 Montana Avenue,
Santa Monica, CA 90403 Map
Buy Tickets SHARE

Series at the Aero Theatre in Santa Monica

Fri, Jun 21, 2019 - Sun, Jun 23, 2019

Over the last three decades, brothers Joel and Ethan Coen have created a remarkably broad filmography, ranging from offbeat crime dramas to love letters to early bluegrass and folk music, black comedies and revisionist Westerns. This weekend of favorites from the acclaimed auteurs includes A SERIOUS MAN, FARGO, NO COUNTRY FOR OLD MEN and more.


Thu, Jun 13, 2019 - Sat, Jun 15, 2019

As movie evangelists go, few could compare to Pauline Kael, born 100 years ago this month. This weekend tribute to the famed New Yorker critic includes such favorites as BONNIE AND CLYDE, CHILDREN OF PARADISE and DINER.


In Person Guests!

Thu, Jun 6, 2019 - Sun, Jun 9, 2019

Television’s National Geographic Channel continues to promote the power of science, exploration and storytelling to change the world. In June we cast our eyes on the planet with free screenings of two of the channel’s most popular series, HOSTILE PLANET and THE STORY OF GOD WITH MORGAN FREEMAN, and its Oscar-winning documentary FREE SOLO – each with in-person guests including FREE SOLO climber Alex Honnold and Morgan Freeman.


Thu, May 23, 2019 - Sun, May 26, 2019

Join us for a Memorial Day weekend of king-size cinema including such masterpieces from the "Golden Age" of 70mm filmmaking as LAWRENCE OF ARABIA and 35mm-to-70mm blow-up prints of such 1980s favorites as HOOK and THE THING.


Thu, May 16, 2019 - Mon, May 20, 2019

A poet, cultural commentator and iconoclastic filmmaker, Pier Paolo Pasolini was never afraid to ruffle feathers. We salute the Italian director with screenings of his “Mythical Cycle” and “Trilogy of Life” films along with such landmarks as SALÒ, OR THE 120 DAYS OF SODOM and THE GOSPEL ACCORDING TO ST. MATTHEW.


Thu, May 9, 2019 - Mon, May 13, 2019

Spotlighting festival award winners from Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Estonia, Germany, Greece, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Poland and Romania, the short and feature films of STARRING EUROPE embody the continent's rich heritage and diversity of cinema.